Go To Search
Flood Protection Information

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has determined that the City of Tamarac has achieved a Class 6 rating in the National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS). This means that NFIP policies issued or renewed for properties in the Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs) in the City of Tamarac beginning October 1, 2011 will receive a 20% premium discount. Only 16% of communities in Florida are Class 6 or better.

NOTE: Every 20 years FEMA is required to do a new Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) Study.
The effective date of the new FIRMs was August 18, 2014.

If the new maps have taken you out of a SFHA you will no longer be required to have flood insurance, however it is recommended that you obtain a lower cost Preferred Risk Policy. Conversely, if the FIRM brings you into a SFHA you will need to acquire flood insurance if you have a mortgage. 

Letter Of Map Change (LOMC) Revalidation
FEMA has revalidated some of the previous Tamarac LOMCs; click here to view them.  Also view FEMA's Summary of Map Actions and Revalidation Letter: Revalidation letter explained.

For more information about the Online LOMC service, visit http://www.fema.gov/online-lomc.  Once you have initially registered and logged in, select "Create Amendment Application" to begin. When you get to the "Supporting Documents" page, reference the previous case by including a cover letter and a copy of the previous determination document. If additional data is required after the request is reviewed, the analyst will contact you via email and the Online LOMC system.

Copies of the existing LOMC's may be obtained from the Building Department.

The links below can help you get information for your property. The Flood Brochure has generic information about being in a Floodplain in Tamarac. The Benchmark link shows how Broward County maintained benchmarks used for survey elevations. The Broward County Flood Zone Search allows you to determine the current flood zone and 100 year flood elevation for your property.

The FEMA and NFIP links bring you to the Federal websites for general information.

Important Links